2017 NABJ SALUTE TO EXCELLENCE AWARDS FINALISTS with WINNERS

Image

Finalists listed alphabetically by entry title

DIGITAL MEDIA

DIGITAL MEDIA – Commentary/Weblog

*Lee Hawkins Commentary/Analysis

Lee Hawkins @Leehawkins

Wall Street Journal @WSJ

DIGITAL MEDIA – Interactive: Feature

*Historically Black

The Washington Post @washingtonpost

DIGITAL MEDIA – Interactive: News

*Looking for Lead (in all the wrong places)

Dan Telvock  – @dantelvock
Investigative Post – @ipostnews

DIGITAL MEDIA > Online Project: Feature

*Under Our Skin

Staff of The Seattle Times

The Seattle Times – @seattletimes

DIGITAL MEDIA > Online Project: News

*Chicago’s disappearing front porch

Rosa Flores, Mallory Simon, Madeleine Stix – @RosaFlores   @MallorySimonCNN @madeleinestix

CNN – @cnn

DIGITAL MEDIA > Single Story: Feature

*The Waco Horror

Jesse Washington @jessewashington
The Undefeated @TheUndefeated

DIGITAL MEDIA > Single Story: News

*How racial amnesia helped Trump win

John Blake, Tawanda Scott @RangerBlake  @tscottsambou

DIGITAL MEDIA > Sports

*A refuge in the right field

Aaron Dodson – @aardodson

The Undefeated – @theundefeated

 

MAGAZINES

MAGAZINES > Art & Design: Page Design > Over 1 Million

*The Meaning of Muhammad Ali

William Nack, Derrick Z. Jackson & Hanif Willis-Abdurraqib

ESPN @ESPN

MAGAZINES > Art & Design: Page Design > Under 1 Million

*The National Museum of African American History and Culture

The Washington Post Staff

The Washington Post @washingtonpost

MAGAZINES > Business > Over 1 Million

* “The Art of the Crossover”

Mina Kimes – @minakimes

ESPN @espn

MAGAZINES > Business > Under 1 Million

*Leading While Black

Ellen McGirt  @ellmcgirt

Fortune @fortunemagazine

MAGAZINES > Commentary/Essay > Over 1 Million

* “His Gentle Soul”

Hana Ali @Hanayali

ESPN @ESPN

MAGAZINES > Commentary/Essay > Under 1 Million

*Zenobia Jeffries columns on racial justice

Zenobia Jeffries – @ZenobiaJeffries

YES! Magazine @yesmagazine

MAGAZINES > Copy Editing > Under 1 Million

No entries

MAGAZINES > Copy Editing > Over 1 Million

No entries

MAGAZINES > General Reporting > Over 1 Millio

*Worlds Apart

Nikole Hannah-Jones @nhannahjones

The New York Times Magazine  @NYTmag

 

MAGAZINES > General Reporting > Under 1 Million

(fyi: ** 2 winners)

*Black Teachers Matter

Kristina Rizga @kristinarizga

Mother Jones @motherjones

*What Happened to Sandra Bland?

Debbie Nathan @DebbieNathan2

The Nation Magazine

MAGAZINES > International > Over 1 Million

*The Grand Egyptian Museum: The Next Big THing

Allison Keyes @allisonradio

Smithsonian Magazine @smithsonian

MAGAZINES > International > Under 1 Million

*Bitter Sweets

Brian O’Keefe @brianbokeefe

Fortune @fortunemagazine

MAGAZINES > Investigative > Over 1 Million

* “The Prosecution of Thabo Sefolosha”

Scott Eden  @scotteden1

ESPN @ESPN

MAGAZINES > Investigative > Under 1 Million

* My Four Months as a Private Prison Guard

Shane Bauer @shane_bauer

Mother Jones @motherjones

MAGAZINES > Single Topic Series > Over 1 Million

* Coverage of National Museum of African American History and Culture

Allison Keyes @allisonradio

Smithsonian Magazine

MAGAZINES > Single Topic Series > Under 1 Million

* The Obama Years: 2008—2016

Gary Younge, Kai Wright, Joan Walsh @garyyounge  @kai_wright  @joanwalsh

The Nation Magazine @thenation

MAGAZINES > Specialty > Over 1 Million

* “Broken Route”

Shaun Assael & Jean-Jacques Taylor @shaunassael @JJT_Journalist

 ESPN @espn

MAGAZINES > Specialty > Under 1 Million

* What the War on Reproductive Rights Has to do With Poverty and Race

Renee Bracey Sherman, Tracy Loeffelholz  @RBraceySherman  @LoeffelholzDunn

 YES! Magazine @yesmagazine

 

MAGAZINES > Sports > Over 1 Million

* “Colin Kaepernick Is a Real American”

Tim Keown @TimKeownESPN

ESPN @ESPN

MAGAZINES > Sports > Under 1 Million

* Robby Anderson: Something to Prove

Chris Franklin @Campster

Coach & Player Magazine @coachandplayer

NEWSPAPER

NEWSPAPER > Art & Design: Graphics > Over 150,000

*Inside the Museum

Aaron Steckelberg, Bonnie Berkowitz, Denise Lu  @asteckelberg  @bonnieberkowitz @DeniseDSLu

 The Washington Post @washingtonpost

NEWSPAPER > Art & Design: Page Design > Over 150,000

*Light and Reflection

Michael Johnson
The Washington Post @washingtonpost

NEWSPAPER > Art & Design: Page Design > Under 150,000

*Yes He Did

Karen Carter Richards @KarenCarterRic

Houston Forward Times @forwardtimes

NEWSPAPER > Business > Over 150,000

*Who is this Robert Smith?

Keith L. Alexander @keithlalexander

The Washington Post @washingtonpost

NEWSPAPER > Business > Under 150,000

* “I’m Always Optimistic”: U.S. Bank’s Greg Cunningham

Robin Washington @robinbirk

Minneapolis-St. Paul Business Journal @MSPBJnews

NEWSPAPER > Commentary > Over 150,000

*Stephen Henderson

Stephen Henderson @shendersonfreep

Detroit Free Press @freep

NEWSPAPER > Commentary > Under 150,000

*A collection of columns by Suzette Hackney

Suzette Hackney @suzyscribe

Indianapolis Star @indystar

NEWSPAPER > Feature: Series > Over 150,000

*Black History Untold: What I Wish I Knew

Sofiya Ballin, Michael Bryant @sofiyaballin

Philadelphia Media Network

NEWSPAPER > Feature: Single Story > Over 150,000

*Promised land? For Sudan family, Detroit is like another planet

John Carlisle @_johncarlisle

Detroit Free Press @freep

NEWSPAPER > Feature: Single Story > Under 150,000

*Daughters of the Revolution: How Queer Black Women Are Leading Chicago’s Black Lives Matter Movement

Derrick Clifton @DerrickClifton

The Chicago Reader @chicago_reader

NEWSPAPER > International > Over 150,000

*Sometimes when I’m alone with my baby, I think about killing him

Kevin Sieff @ksieff

The Washington Post @washingtonpost

 

NEWSPAPER > Investigative > Over 150,000

*Solitary – Way down in the hole

Andy Mannix @AndrewMannix

Star Tribune @startribune

NEWSPAPER > Investigative > Under 150,000

*Powder Keg: Low pay, low morale creating chaos inside and outside our prisons

Maya T. Prabhu @MayaTPrabhu

The Post and Courier @PostandCourier

NEWSPAPER > News: Series > Over 150,000

(fyi ** 2 winners)

*Our children: Searching for Solutions

Detroit Free Press Staff

Detroit Free Press @freep

*Shoot to Kill

Justin George @justingeorge

The Baltimore Sun @baltimoresun

 

NEWSPAPER > News: Single Story > Over 150,000

*Teen killers, now prison lifers— with a ray of hope

Amy S. Rosenberg  amysrosenberg

Philadelphia Media Network

NEWSPAPER > News: Single Story > Under 150,000

*Immigrant Influxes Test U.S. Schools

Corey Mitchell, Swikar Patel, Lesli Maxwell, Deanna Del Ciello @C_C_Mitchell  @swikarpatel @L_maxwell @ddelciello

Education Week @educationweek

NEWSPAPER > Special Project > Over 150,000

*Flint water resource guide

Detroit Free Press Staff

Detroit Free Press @freep

NEWSPAPER > Specialty > Over 150,000

*Medicaid Is Balm And Benefit For Victims Of Gun Violence

Sarah Varney, Diane Webber, Hilary Stout @sarahvarney @dwebbKHN @hastout

Kaiser Health News, The New York Times @KHNnews @NYT

NEWSPAPER > Specialty > Under 150,000

*Are We Ready to Talk About Mental Health Now?

Jeffrey Boney @realtalkjunkies

Houston Forward Times @forwardtimes

NEWSPAPER > Sports > Over 150,000

(Fyi ** 2 winners)

*For Kris Jenkins, Mother Knows Best

Mike Jensen @jensenoffcampus

Philadelphia Media Network

*Jets rookie Jordan Jenkins has mixed feelings about police

Kimberley A. Martin @KMart_BN

Newsday @newsday

NEWSPAPER > Sports > Under 150,000

*Oh, Say, America Why Can’t You See?

Jeffrey Boney @realtalkjunkies

Houston Forward Times @forwardtimes

 

PHOTOJOURNALISM

PHOTOJOURNALISM > Photography: Multiple Images

*Flint water crisis: A visual essay

Ryan Garza @ryangarzafreep

Detroit Free Press @freep

PHOTOJOURNALISM > Photography: Single Image

* “The Truth According to Carmelo Anthony”

Peter Hapak

ESPN @epsn

PHOTOJOURNALISM > Videography

* The Fight in Claressa Shields

Karen Frank @karenevafrank

ESPN @espn

 

RADIO

 

RADIO > Commentary > Top 15 Markets

*Dear President: What You Need to Know About Race

Rebecca Carroll, Emily Botein @rebel19

WNYC New York Public Radio @wnyc

 

RADIO > Documentary > Top 15 Markets

*Separate and Unequal

Lester Graham @michiganwatch

Michigan Radio @michiganradio

RADIO > Documentary > Market 16 and Below

*Minnesota’s Graduation Gap

Bill Wareham, Brandt Williams, Laura Yuen @bwareham @brandtmpr @laura_yuen

MPR News @mprnews

RADIO > Feature > Market 16 and Below

*Homeless and alone, she struggles toward graduation

Laura Yuen, Laura McCallum @laura_yuen @MPRsLauraMc

MPR News @mprnews

RADIO > Feature > Network

*50 years ago, Martin Luther King Jr. fought for Open Housing in Chicago

Cheryl Corley @nprcherylcorley

NPR @npr

RADIO > Feature > Top 15 Markets

(Fyi **2 winners)

*Gentrification: Feeling Like an Outsider in Your Own Neighborhood

Corinne Bobb-Semple, Veralyn Williams, Kaari Pitkin @veralynmedia @kaaripitkin

WNYC @WNYC

*One Block, Zero Shootings: How One Mom Is Building Community In Englewood

Natalie Moore, Andrew Gill @natalieymoore @andrewgill

WBEZ Chicago Public Media @WBEZ

 

RADIO > Investigative > Top 15 Markets

(fyi **2 winners)

*Police Data Cast Doubt on Stop-and-Frisk

Chip Mitchell @ChipMitchell1

WBEZ Chicago Public Media @WBEZ

*School Suspensions Continue In Spite Of Miami-Dade’s No-Suspension Policy

Rowan Moore Gerety @rowanmg

WLRN News @WLRN

 

RADIO > News: Long Form > Network

*The Driving Life and Death of Philando Castile

Cheryl Corley @nprcherylcorley

NPR @npr

RADIO > News: Long Form > Top 15 Markets

*Brookline’s Liberal Reputation Reeling From Racism Charges Within Police Department

Phillip Martin @phillipWGBH
WGBH @wgbh

RADIO > News: Long Form > Market 16 and Below

*A FOUNDATION NAMED AFTER FANNIE LOU HAMER IS FIGHTING CANCER DOOR-TO-DOOR

Desare Frazier  @desarefrazier
Mississippi Public Broadcasting @MPBOnline

RADIO > News: Short Form > Network

*Prince Remembered

Julie Walker @jwalkreporter

The Associated Press @ap

RADIO > News: Short Form > Top 15 Markets

*Liberty City Children Protest For The Right To Play Outside Safely

Nadege Green @NadegeGreen

WLRN News @wlrn

 

RADIO > Public Affairs: Interview/Discussion > Top 15 Markets

*The Sunshine Economy: Cops and Communities

Terence Shepherd @terenceshepherd

WLRN News @WLRN

 

RADIO > Public Affairs: Interview/Discussion >

*Counter Stories: Live from the Rondo neighborhood

Tom Weber, Jo Erickson, Julie Siple @webertom1 @JericksonJo @juliesiple_mpr

MPR News @MPRNews

 

RADIO > Sports > Network

*Black U.S. Olympians Won In Nazi Germany Only To Be Overlooked At Home

Hansi Lo Wang, Luis Clemens  @hansilowang @luisclemens

NPR @NPR

RADIO > Sports > Top 15 Markets

*Dribbling The Way From Haiti To A College Scholarship

Rowan Moore Gerety @rowanmg

WLRN News @WLRN

 

TELEVISION

TELEVISION > Documentary > Network

*Outside the Lines: Impact: The Life of Donnovan Hill

ESPN Outside the Lines

ESPN @espn

TELEVISION > Documentary > Top 15 Markets

*Freedoms Deferred: Jim Crow

James Byrne, Fran Murphy, Robin Hamilton, Bob Kanner @jamesewebb
Tribune Media @tribunemedia

TELEVISION > Documentary > Market 16 and Below

*Black and Blue

Clay Johnson, Jay Jennings, Shan Zhong, Gerald Owens

WRAL-TV @WRAL

TELEVISION > Feature: Long Form > Network

*CBS Sunday Morning: A Dream Come True

Lee Cowan, Robbyn McFadden, David Bhagat, Rand Morrison

CBS News @CBSnews

TELEVISION > Feature: Long Form > Top 15 Markets

*Inequality in Chicago

Gaynor Hall, Pamela Grimes, Afua Owusu, Mike D’Angelo

WGN-TV @WGNTV

TELEVISION > Feature: Long Form > Market 16 and Below

*Preemie goes to College

Claudine Ewing, Andy DeSantis, Luke Carter

WGRZ-TV @WGRZ

TELEVISION > Feature: Short Form > Network

* “Football to Farming”

Kevin Tibbles, Kim Cornett, Roberto Bailey, Sam Singal, Brooke Fraser

NBC Nightly News with Lester Holt @nbcnightlynews

TELEVISION > Feature: Short Form > Top 15 Markets

*A Family Affair

Adrienne Broaddus

KARE TV @KARE11

 

TELEVISION > Feature: Short Form > Market 16 and Below

*Renaissance Man

Ama Arthur-Asmah

KUSA-TV @9NEWS

TELEVISION > General Assignment News:Long Form > Network

*CBS Sunday Morning: A Week in Black & White

Martha Teichner, Mark Hudspeth, Lauren Barnello, Chad Cardin, Rand Morrison CBS News @CBSsunday

TELEVISION > General Assignment News:Long Form > Top 15 Markets

*WPIX-TV: “Armed Racism on the Showroom Floor & Questionable Police Investigation”

Jay Dow

WPIX-TV @PIX11

TELEVISION > General Assignment News:Long Form > Market 16 and Below

*Hamlet, North Carolina 25 years later

Steven Crump

WBTV @WBTV_NEWS

TELEVISION > General Assignment News:Short Form > Network

* “Georgetown: Confronting the Past”

Kristen Welker, Jackeline Pou, Ilyas Kirmani, Sam Singal

NBC Nightly News with Lester Holt @nbcnightlynews

TELEVISION > General Assignment News:Short Form > Top 15 Markets

*Natural Hair Tangle

Adrienne Broaddus

KARE TV @KARE11

TELEVISION > General Assignment News:Short Form > Market 16 and

*Standing in the face of hate

Steven Crump

WBTV @WBTV_NEWS

TELEVISION > International > Network

*Nightline: The Stolen Speak

Juju Chang, Katie Yu, Clark Bentson, Jenna Millman, Roxanna Sherwood

ABC NEWS @ABC

 

TELEVISION > International > Market 16 and Below

*Acid Attack Survivor Offers Others Hope

Kristen Swilley

WCPO-TV @WCPO

 

TELEVISION > Investigative > Network

*Not Wanted

Anna Schecter, Cynthia McFadden, Hannah Rappleye, Tracy Connor, Rachel Maddow

NBC News @nbcnews

TELEVISION > Investigative > Top 15 Markets

*Driving While Black

Cherri Gregg

KYW TV @CBSphilly

TELEVISION > Investigative > Market 16 and Below

*Police Diversity: One Year Later

Brandi Cummings

WAVY-TV @WAVY_News

TELEVISION > Public Affairs: Interview/Discussion > Network

*5 Things You Can Do To Change Sh*t

TyKecia Hayes

BET @BET

TELEVISION > Public Affairs: Interview/Discussion > Top 15 Markets

(fyi **2 winners)

*Basic Black: Celebrating a Prince, a Queen, and a General

Callie Crossley, Valerie Linson

WGBH @WGBH

*WPIX-TV: “No Place To Call Home – Jay Dow Goes 1 on 1 with NYC’s Homeless Services Commissioner”

Jay Dow

WPIX-TV @PIX11

TELEVISION > Public Affairs: Interview/Discussion > Market 16 and Below

(fyi **2winners)

*Awareness After Charleston: One Year Later

Meaghan Norman

WIS-TV @WIS10

*Black Nouveau:  Laura Johnson

Liddie Collins

Milwaukee PBS @MilwPBS

 

TELEVISION > Public Affairs: Program > Network

*This Week: Ambush in Dallas

The Staff of This Week

ABC NEWS @ABC

TELEVISION > Public Affairs: Program > Top 15 Markets

*Voices of Atlanta

Jeff Reid

WXIA Television @11AliveNews

TELEVISION > Public Affairs: Program > Market 16 and Below

*Hope and Healing

Steven Crump

WBTV @WBTV_NEWS

TELEVISION > Public Affairs: Segment > Network

*This Week: Ambush in Dallas

The Staff of This Week

ABC NEWS @ABC

 

TELEVISION > Public Affairs: Segment > Market 16 and Below

*Black Nouveau:  Milwaukee’s Black Panthers

Everett Marshburn

Milwaukee PBS @milwpbs

 

TELEVISION > Specialty > Network

*Breast Cancer and Young Black Women

Roland Martin

TV One Cable Network @TVONETV

TELEVISION > Specialty > Top 15 Markets

*Sandbranch: The Forgotten Community

Demond Fernandez

WFAA-TV @wfaachannel8

 

TELEVISION > Sports > Network

*ESPN Features: SportsCenter – Mother of Hampton Lacrosse

ESPN Features Staff

ESPN @ESPN

 

TELEVISION > Sports > Top 15 Market

*Breaking Barriers:The Greatest Game Never Played

Chandi Lowry

WFMZ @69NEWS

TELEVISION > Sports > Market 16 and Below

* “The Black 14”

TaRhonda Thomas

KUSA-TV @9NEWS

 

TELEVISION > Spot News > Network

*World News Tonight with David Muir: Dylann Roof On Trial

Steve Osunsami, Brandon Baur, Margaret Dawson, Almin Karamehmedovic

ABC NEWS @ABC

TELEVISION > Spot News > Top 15 Markets

*Black Lives Matter

Jeff Reid

WXIA Television @11ALIVENEWS

 

COLLEGIATE

 

NEWSPAPER – COLLEGIATE > Feature Reporting

*Passing

Brianna Moné Williams

Syracuse University @SyracuseU

NEWSPAPER – COLLEGIATE > Sports Reporting

* “Chip Taylor to coach Hamline’s finest”

Gino Terrell

Pipers In-Depth (Hamline University) @HamlineU

ONLINE – COLLEGIATE > Best Use of Multimedia – Special Project

*In Poor Health: Why is Baltimore’s world-renowned health system struggling to keep Freddie Gray’s neighbors — some of the city’s poorest residents — from getting sick?

Sandra Banisky

Philip Merrill College of Journalism, University of Maryland @merrillcollege @UofMaryland

ONLINE – COLLEGIATE > Online News Reporting

*Crime and Punishment

Alyssa Wisnieski

The Medill Justice Project @MedillJustice

ONLINE – COLLEGIATE > Online Sports Reporting

*Benji Michel leads charge as Pilots set sights towards NCAA Tournament

Benjamin Arthur

The Beacon @UPBeacon

 

PHOTOGRAPHY – COLLEGIATE > Multiple Images

* “Fear Chip Taylor and the Pipers D”

Gino Terrell

Pipers In-Depth (Hamline University) ) @HamlineU

 

RADIO – COLLEGIATE > Radio Feature Reporting

* Mental Health: Why Students of Color Suffer More

Taylor Epps

Syracuse University @syracuseu

RADIO – COLLEGIATE > Radio News Reporting

*Too Colored For Cancer

Cierra Smith

NCC News, Syracuse University @syracuseu

 

TELEVISION – COLLEGIATE > General TV News Reporting

*The End of An Era for President Obama

Cache McClay

Howard University

TELEVISION – COLLEGIATE > Television Feature Reporting

*Howard University: Home to Student Entrepreneurship

Danielle Solomon

Howard University @howardu

TELEVISION – COLLEGIATE > Television Sports Reporting

*Olympic hurdler seeks out Raleigh coach

Kendra Douglas

Spectrum News @UNC @WRAL

About author

Tony Smith

Tony Smith is a news reporter and meteorologist. He’s worked in Miami, Omaha, Norfolk, Greensboro and Las Vegas. But Chicago is home for this weatherman. Tony is looking forward to working with other NABJCC board members in-order bring together Chicagoland journalists dedicated to truth and excellence in newsgathering, reporting, and equality in the media industry. Tony encourages everyone to follow him on Twitter and Facebook. Learn more about Tony Smith: https://vimeopro.com/tvtalent/tony-smith https://vimeopro.com/tvtalent/tony-smith-1 https://vimeopro.com/tvtalent/tony-smith-news

Social Media Manager – Presence Health

In collaboration with the communications team, the social media manager is responsible for developing and leading an overall social media strategy. About Presence Health Presence ...
%d bloggers like this: