Dorothy Leavell, John H. White to be inducted into NABJ Hall of Fame

NABJ to Induct Dorothy Leavell and John H. White into its Hall of Fame

NABJ to induct Dorothy Leavell and John H. White into its Hall of Fame on December 16, 2015.

July 20, 2015—The National Association of Black Journalists today announced that Chicagoans John H. White, Pulitzer Prize-winning photojournalist and photojournalism educator, and Dorothy Leavell, publisher of the Chicago Crusader are among this year’s 11 inductees into the organizations Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony will take place at the Marriott Wardman Park in Washington, DC on December 16, 2015, as part of NABJ’s 40th Anniversary Gala.

“NABJ is honored to recognize this exemplary group of African American journalists whose work has broken barriers and reached the highest standards in journalism,” said NABJ Executive Director Darryl Matthews, Sr.

The NABJ Hall of Fame was created in 1990 when 10 distinguished historical journalists became its charter members. Since then, 53 of the nation’s top journalists have been inducted, among them: Chuck Stone, Gwen Ifill, Robert Maynard, Lynn Norment, Ed Bradley and Carole Simpson. For a complete listing of previous inductees, visit

The Hall of Fame Induction is presented by NABJ, an organization of journalists, students and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services and advocates on behalf of black journalists worldwide. Founded in Washington, D.C. by 44 men and women on December 12, 1975, NABJ is the largest organization of journalists of color in the nation.


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: